On One Hand

September 24, 2004

Lies and Articles

Filed under: Uncategorized — ononehand @ 4:42 pm

I’m thinking about getting a paid account. God knows I spend enough time on livejournal that it would be worthwhile. But as is everything with me, the “thinking about it” process can take several months, so don’t expect me to get the paid account anytime soon.

I’ve picked out two articles I could use for my journalism school application: one entitled “House vote defies Bush on overtime” from the Rocky Mountian News, and another called “LeTorneau plans to marry student” from ABC News.com. My task is to describe in one page how the story represents good journalism. The first article I would praise for the fact that an article in the Business section actually applies to the working class. (It’s rare to find a Business Section article that anyone besides the .5% of the population that invests in stocks would care about.) The second I would praise for its objectivity (LeTorneau is the famous schoolteacher who had sex with her 13-year old student), because child rape is something that most people have established negative feelings toward, yet the article seems almost sympathetic to the forbidden love. I might bring up the fact that as a gay person I understand how important it is that the press remain objective and not conform to society’s perspective of what relationships should be considered peverse.

I don’t want to use a news article I got from online, but I don’t see myself writing a better or worse response no matter what the article is about or where it’s from. I don’t really have the ability to discriminate between articles, saying “this one would make a good application” and “this one wouldn’t.” I’m not really looking forward to working on this application whether it turns out good or not. It’s due October 5, and I want to have it done by the end of the weekend.

Lorelei is upset. She apologized about all the shit from the other day, and repeated that she was sorry for making me upset. Without being specific she made it clear what she was talking about, because she brought up that she read about it in my journal. She asked me if I could forgive her, I said “give me a while, don’t worry about it,” and then she started crying, which is what she is doing now in her bedroom. I feel bad, but it’s not like I can lie and tell her that I’m over it. That seems sick, telling a person who has confessed having suicidal thoughts that I’ll need “a while” to forgive her. I would normally be thinking, “I can’t lie to her because she would be able to somehow feel that I am still upset,” but apparently that’s not something I have to consider anymore. Instead, I’m not going to lie because I don’t know how to lie to someone who isn’t a stranger. It seems that all I would have to do is say the lie I want to say and be done with it, but I think it gets more complicated than that.

Oh well. We’ll get through this. I’ll try to go out tonight, have a good time, and forget about religion and politics and spirituality and all of the things that have been stressing me out. Being at home is not good because it leaves my brain free to ponder existentialism, determinism, cosmology, and all the like. I’ll go out tonight, work all weekend, try to catch up on my reading homework for classes in which I’ve fallen SO far behind, and maybe by monday I will have forgotten all this.

5 Comments »

  1. Yeah Weekends!!!

    Comment by im_just_a_boy — September 24, 2004 @ 4:49 pm | Reply

  2. Business reporting should be just like any other type of reporting. So far it’s been that way for me, at least. A lot of times the topics are esoteric, but if the reporter does a good job, you’d never know it if you read the story. Check out the New York Times’ business section for some good examples of that.

    I would advise thinking less about message and more about content. It’s important that the articles say what you think they should say, but I would assume the journalism school is interested in your views on how they go about making that message effective. What about the way it’s written grabbed your attention, irregardless of whether you agreed with what it said? Look closely at the lead and think about how the reporter structured the rest of the story. Did you find yourself reading all the way through and then being surprised at how quickly it read? Or were you skimming because after the first couple paragraphs you got bored?

    Comment by spacemanspiff04 — September 24, 2004 @ 7:18 pm | Reply

    • I always read everything all the way through, if I’m interested in the topic. If I’m not interested, I probably won’t read it at all. It has much more to do with the topic than the style, which makes things difficult if I am supposed to be talking about style. But I’ll work something out.

      Comment by ononehand — September 24, 2004 @ 10:17 pm | Reply

  3. ;D

    Comment by shayne — September 26, 2004 @ 12:49 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

