On One Hand

October 31, 2004

HA!

Filed under: Uncategorized — ononehand @ 11:07 pm

Just like last year, I was a Republican for halloween. I parted my hair on the left side and combed it over toward the Right. I wore a white button shirt, gray tie, gray pants, black belt, and black shoes. I made buttons out of paper that said “Peace is for Pansies,” “Moving America Forward” (on a picture of a tank moving forward), “I Believe In Supply-Side Jesus,” and “Is Your Child’s Teacher A Terrorist?” There was a pin with a donkey crossed out. I decided not to wear “The Terrorists Want You To Defend Your Civil Liberties” deciding it was too mean. The party I went to was thrown by a friend from high school, and she’s a youth leader at a non-denominational Christian church (the mega-box suburban conglomerate kind) so most of her friends are conservative. There was no alcohol. It was on my friend’s request that I wore the Republican outfit to begin with, because she was excited by the prospect of pissing her friends off. As a rule of thumb, young conservatives know shit about poltics, and some said “what are you, a mayor? Are you John Kerry?” Yeah, John Kerry would TOTALLY wear a “Peace is for Pansies” pin. A guy at the party refused to associate with me because I was a Kerry fan, saying that he can’t tolerate Kerry’s morally bankrupt stance on gay marriage and stem cell research. A few others said they hate Democrats but didn’t direct it at me specifically. But I didn’t act straight at the party. And I had fun with the more moderate people, who laughed at my un-Christian gay jokes. I didn’t draw attention to my sexuality but didn’t hide it, and a closeted Christian guy there started flirting with me when he realized I was gay. I am not making a wild assumption about the flirting, it was pretty obvious, and he gave me his number.

Because they were Christian, the party ended when everyone went to bed early, leaving me to use the rest of the night as I pleased. Three of us from the party went up to Boulder just in time to be tear gassed during the riots.

Kerry
You preferred Kerry’s statements 100% of the time

Voting purely on the issues you should vote Kerry

Who would you vote for if you voted on the issues?

Find out now!

1 Comment »

  1. That’s got to be the greatest Halloween costume ever.

    Comment by punkstress — November 1, 2004 @ 2:58 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

