On One Hand

November 24, 2004

Thought of the Day

Filed under: Uncategorized — ononehand @ 1:48 am

I have seen some pretty shitty writers get into magazines *coughXYmagcough* and books and all sorts of media for publication. Inversely, I have read some pretty good writers in my creative writing class and other classes around school, and even in livejournal, and none of these writers are published. This validates an ongoing revelation I’ve had about life: sucess is much more about how you sell yourself than it is about actual talent or skill. Viva la meritocracy. To give more evidence for that opinion: I have this not-so-bright friend who was looking for a job a few months ago. (By not-so-bright I mean naive as all hell. We all kind of laugh at her endearingly, keeping her around because it’s funny what she doesn’t know. We once told her you can shove food up your butt and you’ll poop out your mouth, like in South Park, and she called back three days later, saying “OMG my boyfriend doesn’t BELIEVE you guys!” Another time we told her that if you fall asleep on a satelite dish people can see your dreams, and she asked where one might a satellite dish big enough to fall asleep on.) So a few months ago she was saying she woudln’t accept a job at Dillard’s because she wanted to work for “a company.” I replied, “Huh? Dillard’s is a company.” and she didn’t get what I was saying, telling me “No I mean a company.” I think by “company” she meant “office job.” She said she should be working for a company instead of a store because she “knows computers, like windows 95 AND 97, and can even type in Word and stuff as specialized as Power Point.” She added that whatever she doesn’t know she can learn from her boyfriend. I rolled my eyes and said good luck with that, as I always say when someone hopes for something crazy, thinking she would still be trying to get her coveted job at “a company” months or years from now. But lo and behold, she got a job as an insurance agent a week later. A damn good paying job, too. It wasn’t that she knew what she was talking about to get that job, since I figure she obviously didn’t know what she was talking about, but that she was so naiive and optimistic that she really sounded like she knew what she was talking about during the interview. And that brings me to my thesis: it’s all about presentation, more than anything else.

So if I want to be a writer (in addition to other things) I just need to insist that I’m good enough. My biggest challenge is to write something pertinent, since most of my blurbs and poems and thoughts and journal entries don’t fit what any magazines are looking for. “Send us your thoughs on weeping willows!” probably won’t come up in any medium any time soon. Next I have to actually figure out where to go to get published, and finally I have to go do it. I don’t have to be a good writer yet, I just have to present myself like I am. People will believe me. Besides, people tell me they like to read what I write; whether it’s high-quality writing or not they still enjoy it. So I need to figure out where to go and get started on it. I tried to get on the Campus Press (they take anybody) but that’s a first-come-first-serve organization and the newspaper staff was full. Now I’m on to specialty magazines and letters-to-the-editor, for now. This might take quite a bit of failed tries before I finally get through. I wish CU had a class on “how to get published: how the whole damn publishing system works and how to sell yourself into that system.” I’d be signed up in a heartbeat. It would be nice.

4 Comments »

  1. You may want to check out http://www.queerwriters.com or http://www.velvetmafia.com for some ideas.

    Comment by mroctober — November 24, 2004 @ 9:53 am | Reply

    • Thanks! Those sites are both good. I don’t know if I’m ready to start writing yet but I’ll take note of the type of stuff they want. I’ve written short stories before, but they unfortunately have little to do with gay people, except for one I wrote when I was fifteen, which I doubt is up to par. Anyway, I’ll bookmark both of those pages.

      Comment by ononehand — November 29, 2004 @ 2:59 am | Reply

  2. i’m a prick

    hey pizzutti, you dont know me but i said something rude to your freind jdhenchman yesterday. i feel preety bad about it. i was in a bitchy mood, lots of drama going on here and i took it out on him. but at the same time i was trying help. but it was still very assholish and tell him i’m sorry.

    Comment by Anonymous — November 24, 2004 @ 3:05 pm | Reply

    • Re: i’m a prick

      lol okay… if I talk to him any time soon I’ll tell him that Anonymous apologized.

      Comment by ononehand — November 24, 2004 @ 6:09 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

