On One Hand

February 1, 2005

Bullshit

Filed under: Uncategorized — ononehand @ 11:44 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve heard people say that two women holding hands on daytime television is obscene. Personaly, I think that bigotry is obscene.

When I went to high school in the suburbs, I accepted as granted the way things were. I accepted as a fact of life that the fag kid gets cussed at and spat on, and I thought of growing up in West Texas or Wyoming or fifty years ago and thought “at least it’s not that bad for me; it could have been worse.” And then I came to college, a town where people are more educated and rational, and therefore more liberal, and I was treated as a person with dignity. I didn’t have to watch my back anymore. I was treated as if I deserved the same respect that everyone else did, and the fact that I was gay and different slipped into the back of my mind to fade away. I stood up straighter and strengthened my voice. It was in college that I realized the way that things could and should be. So when I look back at my old situation, I now see it with much more anger than I did then, because I now realize how wrong it was. And when I’m around those intolerant people, I don’t feel like making life one bit easier for them. Thinking about it makes me want to approach them, talk loudly in front of them with an exaggerated lisp, flit my wrists at them, lick my boyfriend’s tonsils in public and talk about how much my ass hurts from last night, to, in a phrase, “flaunt it,” to a degree much more extreme than would ever come naturally to me. I want to flaunt because I’m angry, and I hope it makes those people uncomfortable when I do. If it makes them uneasy, if it makes them nauseous, if it makes them crawl in their skin with agony, then good. Good! If I can make them feel so upset by leading my life in a way that doesn’t even relate to them, then good, that’s what they deserve for being bigots.

The College Republicans at CU are planning to have a “Straight Pride Celebration” sometime this year, date to be announced. At first I almost liked the idea, thinking “hey, if they can be proud of who they are, more power to them; that’s what gay pride is all about!” I thought I might even drop by, which I knew might piss some of them off but I would be going to make a point, to show that gay pride isn’t what they think. But then I read more about what they had to say about their celebration, what their specific statements about “straight pride” are, and realized that they are definitely planning a hatefest, planning to “promote normalcy and morality” and “protect the sanctity of marriage.” Honestly, how could I not have assumed it would be that way?

I hope they do it. Forty years from now, people will look back at the old photographs of the Campus Republicans and see burning crosses and clan robes. The protest is supposed to be a matter of intellectual freedom, a matter of diversity of opinion and thought. Let me ask, then; since when was bigotry just a matter of personal opinion? We are not talking about Social Security reform or adjusting an income tax bracket. This is personal. It’s a personal attack against real, living people who have already faced a lot of shit in their lives. They’re going to stage this event and it’s going to start a riot.

I wouldn’t say that Republicans are bigots, because each individual is different. But the official party platform is very bigoted, and anyone who votes for or supports the party knowing its platform is essentially saying that they either 1) agree with the bigotry or 2) believe that bigotry is something that can be overlooked to other issues. There is no way around it; it’s a tautology, in the most rational sense.

Bullshit.

6 Comments »

  1. Whoa, interesting info. Leave it to this wonderful liberal town to breed a bunch of angry straight conservatives. “Normalcy and morality”…how enlightened. I wonder how many women and minorities will be joining in the festivities. Nothing like a few years of acceptance to make a group of people confident and ready to turn the tables of hate. Can’t wait to see what we sexual deviants will do with our power when the world finds something it hates more than us.

    Comment by Anonymous — February 2, 2005 @ 7:58 am | Reply

  2. I saw Willow on Buffy kiss her lesbian lover on daytime television.

    Comment by ms_misdirected — February 2, 2005 @ 1:16 pm | Reply

  3. I’m really interested in this group at CU…definitely keep us posted if thet have a straight pride parade or whatever they plan on doing. Personally I think even the original idea of having such a thing already is trying to counteract the homosexual culture. Straight pride? Since when does being straight need to be expressed as something shouldn’t be repressed and shouldn’t be ashamed of? eh. you know what I mean. But unfortunately in this is much worse. Sounds like something GW Bush would just love to attend.

    Comment by ezstrider — February 2, 2005 @ 1:55 pm | Reply

  4. I love the whole “40 years from now concept.” Makes me feel so smug every time there’s evidence of bigotry.

    Maybe the College Republicans need to be reminded that something like 80% of college students are ok with gay marriage.

    Of course, 44% of Arkansans voted for a U.S. Senate candidate whose platform was entirely based on stopping gay marriage, so…

    Comment by spacemanspiff04 — February 2, 2005 @ 2:34 pm | Reply

  5. I think it’s funny that the College Republicans want to remove a certain professor for things he said and in essence, denying his right to free speech. Well if they want to deny people their free speech, then I’d like to go straight to the heads of CU and let them know that I find this Straight Pride parade offensive and would like to have it removed from campus. I came to this school and this town hoping to dive into a place of strong achedemics and to relish in the freedom and safety I knew I’d feel there. All I can say is I’m very dissapointed and just a tad bit angry. Now I’m all for parades and demonstrations. We have them. But since when have we every thrown and anti-straight rally? When have we thrown messages of hatred in the faces of the republicans calling them ass-holes and biggots? There may be individuals yes but as a whole when have we publically attacked something we don’t agree with; something we don’t like? They have the right to voice their opinion. My question or rather my fear: How far is this straight pride going to go?

    Comment by im_just_a_boy — February 2, 2005 @ 4:01 pm | Reply

  6. There is a controversy at a neighboring school in my city, the University of Rochester, right now over “Conservative Safe Zones”. Two friends of mine are actually in charge of the College Republicans over there (for a VERY liberal gay guy I have a lot of VERY conservative straight friends, a very frustrating predicament). I expressed my personal disgust for what they were doing, and told them the backlash they were getting from the GSA there was less than what they deserved.

    Now, after a deal of analysis, it just seems like the conservative attempt to bastardize our constant battle for acceptance. It is their way of mocking us into being belittled, and perhaps giving up our fight. But, as I often find, without an enemy, conservatives often crumble and disappear. When I told my friends in the College Republicans that I was ok with what they were doing as long as we could still have our safe zones unprotested, they backed off.

    Comment by jk2703 — February 2, 2005 @ 5:15 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

