On One Hand

November 8, 2005

Meeting Up

Filed under: Uncategorized — ononehand @ 5:33 pm
Tags: , ,

My parents are exceedingly difficult to plan dates with. I tell my mom where she can pick me up, thinking that will be enough. But no, we have to discuss all positive and negative repurcussions of meeting in the Taco Bell parking lot.

“It might be easier to get you at your apartment,” my mother tells me.

“That’s fine,” I say, “then meet me there.”

“But it’s five, so we’re in rush hour,” she realizes, “so that might not work. Can I pick you up at your old dorm from freshman year?”

“What has my dorm got to do with rush hour?” I ask. “Just meet me at my apartment, and you’ll be there five minutes later if there’s traffic. I don’t mind waiting.”

“It might take more than five minutes to get through it,” she warns.

True, I think, but not as long as it’ll take us to talk about it.

My mother called me excited that she’ll be attending a seminar on speech disabilities in a building on the CU campus. It happens to be in a room I once had a class in, and in a building I’ve had several classes in and have a class in now. I elementary school teachers are required to attend several educational talks each year, and my mother works with speech impediments so this one was right up her alley.

1 Comment »

  1. did you?

    did eventualy meet up with her? im sorry.

    Comment by Anonymous — November 14, 2005 @ 12:32 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

