On One Hand

November 16, 2006

2008 Presidential Campaign

Filed under: Uncategorized — ononehand @ 5:18 pm
Tags: , ,

Thinking early of the 2008 presidential elections, I thought I’d ask the super left-wing, young, idealistic and well-educated livejournal community what they think. I’ll probably re-post this every few months or so with names added or dropped based on who’s on the table, so please let me know if you think anyone should be added, and comment if something needs to be said!

I personally would love to see John Edwards run for president and carry the Democratic nomination this year, against some stiff Conservative like George Allen (not likely) or Bill Frist. I like Obama the best but tend to think that 1) Americans are racist, and 2) He’d be a stronger candidate in 8-12 years. If Giulianni were to win the GOP nomination (which I think is extremely unlikely), I’d know that, even though he has a good chance of beating the Democrat, his nomination would destroy the Republican Party as we know it and cause a major reallignment in American politics – and John Edwards could beat him anyway. In the end I think John Edwards is most electable even against the most moderate of Republicans, and he would do especially well in the South. He’s as charming as Bobby Kennedy and I can see him being a popular president in spite of the country’s current polarized culture.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

