On One Hand

March 22, 2007

Testosterone

Filed under: Uncategorized — ononehand @ 2:13 pm

So, I was wondering.

I know I can “feel” the presence of testosterone in my body, especially when there seems to be a lot of it. It happens most often from the first few hours to the full day after I’ve gone to the gym. More specifically, it happens after the times I do the leg and back exersizes, and much less so (but still some) on the days I do arms and stomach. First it’s a weird pressure/tingly feeling in my stomach, faint but pleasant, but words don’t describe it because it isn’t so much of a physical feeling as just a “sense,” similar to the way you sense being drunk or stoned. Then I feel like there’s some kind of jelly in the muscles of my chest and thighs that needs to be “squeezed out” by flexing, and it gives me the urge to lift heavy things, sprint, or tackle and wrestle people; basically, I want to throw my weight around. I get really hungry and/or thirsty and keep feeling hungry even when my stomach feels full. Small amounts of pain actually feel good; I want to punch things and get that sting in my knuckles. I’m not necessarily “aroused” all the time, but it can come on really, really suddenly and intensely, and I’m attracted to people I am not attracted to otherwise. I’m cocky and confident, and very, very distractable. Sometimes I get stomach cramps. Actually, the stomach cramps can be pretty bad. I also might bleed more easily but it’s hard to tell since I don’t really bleed that often to begin with.

Like I said, it happens after I work out, but it won’t happen if I’m very hung over (but happens more if I drank just a small amount), if I’m not getting enough sleep, or if I’m depressed. It happens more when the weather is warm, but otherwise more in the fall, and also seems to come and go in waves; there will be a week where I feel it a lot, then a couple weeks later there will be a week when I don’t feel it at all.

I’m wondering if estrogen feels the same way. Most people tend to have a lot of one or the other, either testosterone or estrogen, but there are people who have switched genders in their lifetime, and they should let me know.

3 Comments »

  1. Estrogen does not feel like that at all, although it’s hard for me to say what it does feel like since I’m never really without it. All women get testosterone surges, though–it’s what causes PMS. 🙂 And yes, there is a certain desire to punch things.

    Comment by erinya — March 22, 2007 @ 10:47 pm | Reply

    • You may have never been completely without estrogen, but it cycles like all hormones, so you might be able to look up when the cycle is at its highest and see if you feel any different then. And – if PMS is caused by Testosterone, it seems like a pretty pleasant thing; I may want to punch things, sure, but it’s because I feel powerful, not angry. I think there are like 6 or 7 hormones at play. I looked up the estrogen cycle and saw a chart that shows estrogen peaking just before ovulation – but I don’t know how you know when you’re ovulating, since it’s a couple weeks before PMS. Meanwhile, everything I found about the testosterone cycle in men was about which drugs to take to boost it, so I don’t know what the month-long curve is, if there is any.

      Comment by ononehand — March 22, 2007 @ 11:06 pm | Reply

      • Pre-ovulation is normally associated with a higher sex drive in women. My estrogen/progesterone is regulated (birth control) so it’s hard to say how my cycle is affected. I do know that PMS does not only bring on higher levels of aggression for me, but also higher emotional lability in general: i.e. my base emotional state will be magnified, whether positive or negative. Some months I’ll feel an enhanced sense of physical well-being and acumen, and other months I’ll be clumsy (my parallel parking skills are normally pretty kick-ass, but I lose them completely around that time of the month.)

        I seem to remember from my human sexuality/hormones classes that mens’ hormones cycle daily, rather than monthly. Can’t remember what the cycle’s pattern is, though.

        Comment by erinya — March 22, 2007 @ 11:44 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

