On One Hand

May 13, 2007

Weekend Update

Filed under: Uncategorized — ononehand @ 12:49 am

I know these I-ate-rice-today entries are lame but I need to do it just this once to explain where things are going.

School’s out! At least for a while; I’m going right back in a few weeks. I’ll probably be writing for the Boulder Daily Camera (circulation 33,000) this summer, doing features. That’s my last requirement for the Journalism degree, and I’ll be able to focus on Creative Writing and Religious Studies. I’m hoping I’ll get to write a few good religion articles for the Camera. Unfortunately I don’t think I’ll be able to post the articles here a few weeks after they’re printed like I did with the Campus Press articles, but I’m not certain about that. I’ll ask.

My laptop is officially dead. Flat out dead. Weeks ago I was saying it would only come on on if I left it switched off for 24 hours or more, but now it isn’t turning on at all. I’ve been told by many people that it’s a “power system” problem, so, whatever. Dunno what to do about that except replace the system. That might take a while. In the mean time, I’ll be updating from other peoples’ computers.

Now that school’s out I’m officially able to have friends. I might also get laid once in a while. Meet someone interesting, fall in love, you know, whatever.

I don’t think I got straght A’s this semester. I got at least one A- but that’s the only grade I’ve seen so far. I’m thinking of one class in particular where I am expecting a B. But other than that, everything looks good.

I’m officially published in two places! (Not counting newspapers). Those places are Illiterate magazine and the Walkabout, a student literary journal. Not much to brag about so far, but hopefully, now that I finally know what I’m doing, the future will bring more published clips to me. I didn’t “submit” anything I got published; they were both requested by people who were on staff and thought shomething I wrote was relevant to their respective publications, so maybe if I actually advocate for myself I’ll get to publish more. Since I’m on staff for Illiterate now, my main focus there will be getting other people’s submissions rather than plugging my won. That said – please submit! Email me or go to il.lit.er.ate Magazine.com if you’re interested in publishing your work. We do fiction, nonfiction, articles, poetry, personal essays, photos, artwork, or ANYTHING you have – even music. So if even remotely creative, don’t be afraid to jump in and post your work on our webpage!

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Matt. This is Anja. I’m friending you.
    We still haven’t hung out. We should fix that.
    I want to have a big bbq later this summer and will be sure to invite you.

    Comment by anjahose — May 15, 2007 @ 5:33 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

