On One Hand

September 19, 2007

Secrets

Filed under: Uncategorized — ononehand @ 8:55 pm

It happened again. One of my roommates has splilled a terrible secret.

It started with a weird chatter outside the door one night. Shannon and I were sitting on the couch watching TV. Suddenly the door banged open, unleashing a cacauphony of feminine squeals. When I stood up to see who was outside, I found three nicely-dressed girls skittering away across the lawn as if they had been caught doing something wrong.

On the floor was a large construction paper cutout in the shape of a crescent. It was purple. There was writing on it that read, “Gamma Phi Beta Hearts Lauren.” It was written in Greek letters and symbols, like this: “7OB <3s Lauren.”

That’s when we knew there was something Lauren had been keeping from us. Roommate secrets are all too familiar in our house; Lauren is the girl who replaced Bryson, who is the guy who told me he was gay just after he moved in with us a year ago. When Bryson moved in, I was initially pleased to have someone who understood me – but having two gay men in one house turned out to be harder than I had imagined, when all of our potential sexual partners were guys we both knew. I would frequently pass through Bryson’s bedroom in the morning (to get to the bathroom we shared) to find that someone I had been interested in was cuddled up in Bryson’s bed. For that and other reasons, things got awkward. Bryson decided not to renew his lease after a year, and Lauren was his replacement. Her religion listed on Facebook was “tolerance” and her political views “liberal,” and she described a good taste in music, so that’s all we needed to pick her over the other applicants.

Last night Lauren launched a huge one on us as she picked up the moon-shaped letter on the floor.

“Yeah, I joined a sorority,” she said. “I mean, for now at least.”

I always knew it was possible that someone I live with could join a sorority. But as is true with so many terrible things, I never thought it would actually happen to me. I am trying to be understanding, even supportive. Lauren is a very nice girl. But how far can I condone that lifestyle? And how quickly can I process the unexpected news?

The responsibility for this lies with the rest of us; if we had been there for her before, she might not have turned to that scene. She is a transfer student new to CU, so didn’t have many friends in Boulder. She joined that community trying to make friends, because she’s the only underaged person in the house, and the rest of us, being over 21, go out to the bars on weekends, where she can’t come. “When are we going to have a house party,” Lauren would ask, and we would say, “oh, soon,” but it wouldn’t happen.

Now it’s too late. Our roommate is caught in the snares of a lifestyle the rest of us know nothing about. I wish there were support group for people like us. We are hoping it’s just a phase, but how often are things like that just a phase? I think we are in this for the long haul, and must prepare to entertain a lot of, you know, that kind of girls, right in our own home. Hopefully it will be a learning experience.

2 Comments »

  1. *sorority

    Comment by Anonymous — September 26, 2007 @ 8:52 pm | Reply

  2. Ugh….sorority =P

    I’m so sorry to be the one who’s telling you this; but do expect to see Bros (and tons of them, that is!) in your apt soon.

    Comment by Anonymous — October 4, 2007 @ 2:42 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

